Politicians Working to Make Daylight Savings Time Permanent

Commentary & Community

Politicians Working to Make Daylight Savings Time Permanent

It’s time to change the clocks back this weekend as Daylight Saving Time ends on Sunday morning. However, there is a growing movement to pass legislation that would end the twice-a-year clock switching that upsets so many people.


In 2018, California and Florida voters approved initiatives that would make permanent Daylight Saving Time if federal law is changed to permit it. Since then, 13 states have approved legislation to do the same. Currently, the federal government allows states to adopt Daylight Saving Time between March and November or stay on Standard Time year-round. Senators Marco Rubio and Rick Scott, both Republicans from Florida, have introduced federal legislation that would keep Daylight Savings Time in place through November 2021. Sen. Rubio has also introduced legislation to make Daylight Savings Time permanent.


The idea to change clocks between Standard Time and Daylight Saving Time dates back to World War I. Initially the idea was that it would save energy by aligning the clocks with natural sunlight. It was imposed by the federal government during both world wars, but then was up to state and local preference until 1966. That year, President Lyndon Johnson signed the law giving states either the option of choosing Standard Time or Daylight Saving Time during a uniform period of time.


Those who favor instituting permanent Daylight Saving Time point to evidence that the twice-a-year ritual of changing clocks has adverse effects on health and the economy. They say that in order to stop the changing of clocks, it is necessary to pass this initiative empowering the legislature to debate the issue. Those opposed to a change note that it would mean darker mornings in the winter, with children going to school before the sun comes up.



During 2020 legislative sessions, 32 states considered bills to make Daylight Savings Time permanent.


Do you favor permanent Daylight Saving Time?


Copyright © 2018 Votespotter Inc. All rights reserved.